header image


Company details, Contacts etc.

Company details / Registered Office (Section updated 7 November 2018)

The Stephenson Locomotive Society is a private company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales Company Number 10471004. Our Registered Office changed to 23 Woodland Road, Darlington DL3 7BJ w.e.f 00:01 on 8 November 2018.

Organisational structure (Section updated 28 Feb 2023)

President - Dr Michael Bailey MBE.

Vice Presidents - D J Cobby, C Green, I Johnson, D.B. Lewis & A D Roche.

Management (Section updated 5 Feb 2022)

The Society/Company is managed by an elected Board, together with other members, forming an overall Management Team. The contact details for the Management Team are set out below.

We also have a network of local Centres organising meetings and events across the country. The currently active Centres are located in Ardrossan, Godalming, Kendal, Kidderminster, Manchester, Teesside (2 venues) and Newcastle upon Tyne. We also have arrangements for members to attend the London (Central) LCI venue and also with the RCTS and LCGB for reciprocal meetings attendance. Additionally we now also have on-line meetings presented via Zoom and a selection of these are also listed on YouTube. (NB Zoom & YouTube are both members only restricted).

The Centre contact and venue details are listed on the Meetings Venues page and events are listed in the Perpetual calendar. Our meetings are also listed in the events diary sections of some ofthe railway press and appear as updates in our Twitter and Facebook feeds.

Management Team and email contacts (Section updated 30 October 2022)

Clicking the link will open the default email software on your local device ready to type the email, alternatively copy and paste the email address shown. NB If you need a copy of what you send to us add your own email address into the cc field.

Email to - Chairman - Brian Dotson ( brian.dotson5@gmail.com )

Email to - Company Secretary - Gerry Nichols (compsec@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to: - General Secretary - Ted Buckley. ( secretary@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - Company Treasurer - Eric Rattray ( treasurer@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - Librarian - Gerry Nichols ( library@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - Photograph Collection Custodian - K Greenwood ( slsphotocollect@btinternet.com )

Email to - Journal Editor - Kelvyn Hulme (Sept/Oct 2021 edition and onwards - ( journal@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - Promotions & Publicity Officer - John New ( publicity@stephensonloco.org.uk ) Post currently vacant

Email to - Membership Secretary - Geoffrey C Casey ( slsmembership@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - Webmaster - Robert Turnham ( webmaster@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Email to - For any other query ( stephenson@stephensonloco.org.uk )

Twitter = @Stephenson_loco Twitter


The text, site design and other information on this website is copyright The Stephenson Locomotive Society. The photographs used remain either the copyright of the SLS or that of the original photographer and have NOT been released into the public domain via Creative Commons unless that is individually endorsed.


For academic referencing of any of our web-pages or Journal content please use the location of the Company's Registered Office which is 23 Woodland Road, Darlington DL3 7BJ. For follow up queries, requests to reproduce material etc., please use the relevant email addresses as shown above, (Section updated 9 August 2017)

Site last updated as per the updates page.

Back to top of page